Joining SAG and other ramblings

Hello!

I feel like I always need to use a greeting at the beginning of these entries. I mean, I guess it’s not a complete necessity, but it feels rude not to. It’s probably the same reason I used to start a lot of my diary entries in elementary school by saying “Hi Diary! It’s Hollis. Sorry I haven’t written to you in a while…” My 9-year-old brain also believed that I needed to tell my diary exactly who I was, list off every member of my family (including pets), explain that my parents were divorced and end by explaining who my favorite Backstreet Boy was (Brian, duh). I don’t know if I thought maybe some day I might suffer from amnesia and my diary would be the key to retrieving my memory or that it would be an “Anne Frank” situation and future generations would need to know all about my hamster named Squeaky, but I thought every diary needed to know exactly who I was.

Image

This is the human who wrote in that diary. The girl who believed she was the future Anne Frank.

Anyway.

I joined SAG yesterday, or The Screen Actors Guild if you want to get fancy about it. Not going to lie, it’s a pretty big deal. If I pay my dues and what not, I’m in this thing for life. I’ve been trying my hand at this “professional acting” thing for a little while now and I feel like I have started getting somewhere. OZ: The Great and Powerful finally came out and it was pretty amazing to finally see the movie that changed my entire life. Before I got OZ, I was working at a heating and cooling company in customer service. And don’t get me wrong, I was so grateful to even have a job out of college, but it just wasn’t for me. First of all, most of the customers didn’t even laugh at my jokes and second, I’ve just never really felt a strong passion for the heating and cooling game. I mean some passion, just not a strong passion. I majored in Creative Writing and Theatre in college and so I was a bit out of place.

Then on a whim, my Grandma and I decided to go to the open call for OZ. Actually the only reason I went was because my mom used the whole “I think it would be really nice if you did this for your grandmother…who knows how much longer she’ll be around…” line. I did not even know that they were looking for little people. Long story short (pun intended, short joke, zing!) I ended up working on the movie for two months and made some amazing connections and even more important, some amazing friends. But what the movie really did was provide clarity. It showed me that I would never truly be happy doing anything that wasn’t acting. I think deep down I’ve always known that. But, OZ convinced me and here I am. I’ve found a modicum of “success” (making money) doing what I love and it’s pretty great.

Granted, that could all change tomorrow and I could be on Sunset and Gower begging you for change or for your Roscoe’s Chicken and Waffles leftovers. But for now, I’m going to enjoy the fact that I can actually call myself a professional actress.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Joining SAG and other ramblings

  1. Lois Rimbo says:

    Hey Hollis – your mom sent me this link. And – I just finally saw the movie today!! Congratulations on joining SAG; what a great accomplishment. I saw you in the movie (a couple of times!) and it was easy to recognize your part because your mom had sent a few pictures. We wish you lots of success and hope this is just the beginning of a great career! Let us know if you get out to NYC to see Eddie!

  2. Congratulations on your role, and good luck with your career! I’ll be joining you out in LA in two years :]

  3. Ah, that SAG Holy Grail. Congrats. :)

Leave a Reply

