On Being a Little Person

Buckle in.

To begin, let me say the following opinions are mine and mine alone. I am not trying to convert anyone to my way of thinking, nor am I using this post to condone anyone’s lifestyle or choices. I am also going to refrain from calling out individual people by name. It’s tacky, unnecessary and as the great Destiny’s Child put it, “You know I’m not gonna diss you on the internet…cause my momma taught me better than that.”

I recently have come under a lot of heat for a comment I made on a friend’s Facebook status about Miley Cyrus’ SNL appearance. Essentially, my LP friend said that little people actors should take note of how our other little person friend played his guitar for her performance, rather than dance behind her in say…a plant or food costume. A lot of the LP community commented on the status and a debate began on LP performers and the types of “gigs” we are hired to perform for. Long story short (pun absolutely intended), I decided to comment with the following:

So I apologize in advance if this stirs the pot more but I was reading the comments and really wanted to weigh in. [Person who originally posted], you basically said everything I’ve been wanting to say for a long time but have been too chicken shit to say because I didn’t want to offend anyone.
Most of the time, getting a job purely because you’re a little person (in my opinion) is not a good thing. It is further fulfilling society’s idea that we are something to laugh at; that our value is simply to shock. We can all agree that right now all Miley Cyrus wants to do is make society’s jaw drop. So what’s more “weird” or “freaky” than having little people parading around in your show?
As someone who is trying to make it as a serious actress in this industry, not just trying to “be famous” or make money, there is nothing more frustrating than this stigma. The longer little people agree to be used as shock value, the longer it is going to take for us to be taken seriously.
I was a bear in Miley Cyrus’ VMA performance and it was my first time doing anything like that…anything where I was being used because of my height, not because of my talent. And I will be the first one to tell you that standing on that stage, in that costume was one of the most degrading things I felt like I could ever do. I realize not everyone shares my opinion and I might just be young and naive, but I feel like the acceptance of this kind of treatment has got to stop.

I have been attempting to be a professional actress for the past 3 years and my mom will probably tell you I have been attempting to be a professional actress my entire life. I cannot remember a time in my life when I did not want to be on a stage or in front of a camera. I have been performing in plays and musicals since I could speak. I attended a small Liberal Arts school in Michigan where I earned a degree in Theatre. I was in plays and musicals while in school and I earned none of my roles by simply being small and not one show I was in even made mention of it. I have lived in Los Angeles for almost two years and let me be one of the millions to tell you…it is not easy. Not only am I attempting to break into an impossible industry, but I am trying to do it with what some may consider a huge disadvantage. For decades, little people have not been taken seriously and we still continue to not be. As an actress, I am presented with maybe 2% of the “real” auditions that my average height actress friends are presented with.

However, I have been presented with many other opportunities. I was in Miley Cyrus’ 2013 VMA performance as one of the background bears. I had never done anything in a costume with a mask like that before. I mean, I dressed up as a Pink Power Ranger when I was in Kindergarten and I had a mask on but, I digress… I had never been in a performance where I was purely meant to be gawked or laughed at. I will never forget that performance because it is what forced me to draw my personal line in the sand. After our first dress rehearsal in the costumes with the crew, publicists, performers etc watching us, I walked out of the Barclay Center shaking and crying. Thankfully, my best friends, Kelly and Kerri, happened to be NYC to visit me. They were waiting for me and I walked up to them and broke down. I love being the center of attention, but that was something different. I was being stared and laughed at for all of the wrong reasons. I was being looked at as a prop…as something less than human.

Now, I have never been terribly bullied for being little person. I was extremely fortunate to grow up with a wonderful family and amazing friends. I view these people as a my personal shield. If anyone ever laughed at me on the playground as a child, I wasn’t even given a chance to defend myself because my friends or my cousin, Britt, would step forward and serve these people back some playground realness (mostly they would call them stupid or tell them to shut up…realness). In college, an online message board was started about me. People anonymously wrote in and said I looked “bug-eyed” and that I “creeped” them out and that they “felt sorry for my family that I even existed and I should just go die”. It wasn’t great. I felt the lowest I thought I could feel, but the minute I set foot outside my dorm room, I had sorority sisters, friends, and professors expressing their disgust at the board and it was eventually taken down. More recently, I was at a bar with my friends, Chris, Mark and James, and a man made some comment about my height and went to touch my hair. Before I even knew what was happening or what was said, the boys had stepped between the man and I, and had physically shielded him from even coming near me. My friends are amazing and I bring these examples up to show that, I have been fortunate to know that for every asshole out there calling me a “bug-eyed midget” I have a lot of other people who love me and treat me with respect.

So, while all of those other situations weren’t fun, they never made me feel less than human. When I did the VMAs, I did feel like that. For the first time I felt truly ashamed of being a little person. We were being used simply because we were little. It felt like society still saw us as a joke, despite the fact there is literally nothing different about me other than the fact I am small. You would never make someone with Down Syndrome to come to your party as an “angry retard”. (I have been asked to go to a party as an “angry elf”). So when they asked me to audition for Miley’s tour, I was incredibly hesitant. The money was great and I would have gotten a free trip to Las Vegas. My computer had recently broken and my car needed (and still needs) multiple repairs. I could have fixed a lot of that with the Miley money. So, I sent in my audition tape. I found out I was chosen and was going to have to begin rehearsals the next day. In this whole process, I was never quite told what I would be dancing to or as with Miley. I began to get a horrible gut feeling. All of the VMA feelings came rushing back. I called my mom, Kelly, and Kerri and we all debated for hours about the situation. Eventually they did that annoying thing everyone does where they said “Ultimately, it is your decision.” I wondered if I could do it again…if it my computer and car were worth it. If it was worth that one day, when my future (possibly little person) child YouTubed Miley Cyrus and found me dancing onstage in a costume like that and said something like “But Mom, you don’t let me do things like that” and I had to explain that Momma did it to pay the bills. I wondered if it was worth feeling less than human again.

And frankly, it wasn’t.

I also had a job and dog here in LA that I didn’t want to leave. Too many negative thoughts and considerations went into it. I decided not to join in on the Miley party.

I am not “hating on” the people who are currently doing this, or the little people who decide to do performances in a similar vein. That’s what is so lovely about our world. You are free to do whatever the hell you want to do. “Oh hey, Jesse Pinkman! You’re going to make and sell meth? Cool! I don’t want to do meth, nor do I want to sell it. I don’t think you should do it because I think you’re better than that, but hey! Who am I to tell you what to do?!”

I am simply explaining why I do not do this kind of performance or behavior. If the little person community continues to do performances like this, it is my belief that we will continue to only receive maybe 2% of the auditions and opportunities of our average sized friends. Society will think we’re OK with being laughed at because we still continue to do things that allow them to laugh at us or look at us as props.

So, there it is. Just one girl’s opinion. Let’s all go to Panda Express and get along now, eh?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

570 Responses to On Being a Little Person

  1. Amy Mckinney says:

    If you felt so awful after the rehearsal, why did you go through with the performance?

  2. Pingback: Miley Cyrus makes dancer mad | Gossip - San Francisco Examiner | MILEY CYRUS LATEST NEWS

  3. Pingback: Dançarina anã de Miley reclama do tratamento que recebeu no VMA! | MCyrus.com – Sua fonte sobre Miley Cyrus no Brasil

  4. Ali says:

    Heya, I totally support your right to express your feelings and thoughts and be honest and candid in your assessment of the choices you have made and will make in the future. A life lived without regret is probably one that has never been evaluated properly. We all have at least one moment where we do something against our better judgement or nature because at the moment it seems like the thing to do.
    It’s all a learning experience and now you know what your personal line is and no one can or should judge you for that. I don’t think you have sought the tide of exposure this has brought nor do I feel like you are being disingenuous and I’m sorry that it will come with a myriad of judgement and slander on your person.
    I wish you the best in your career and in life, it sounds like you’re surrounded by wonderful people and really that’s the most important thing to remember. <3

  5. Ayrton Brana says:

    BITCHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH YOU

  6. Pingback: Anã reclamou do tratamento recebido durante o MTV Video Music Awards : Miley Cyrus Brasil

  7. Jude M says:

    Ugly little midget. Of course you’d whine and cry AFTER receiving payment. Who would want to see you act in a major film along side a well known actor? Honestly, unless you’re cast in a comedy you shouldn’t be on the big screen. At least if you’re in a comedy I won’t feel so bad laughing at a hideous midget aka you! You remind me of a cockroach / owl hybrid.. ugly! Keep crying even though no one knew it was you in the costume or that you were a midget. Enjoy your 15 minutes of fame, I guess using the internet for sympathy is the only way you’d get noticed besides people gawking at your midget self. Goddamn attention seeking midget.

    • I don’t often reply to comments, but this by far is one of the most insensitive, and dare I say idiotic ones I have ever seen. Not only is this comment insensitive and stupid, but clearly sprouts from either jealousy or some sort of insecurities within yourself. Instead of bashing people you don’t know on websites, why don’t you go out and open your mind a little. Because the only person that seems to be screaming for attention here, is you.

      • Jude M says:

        Screaming for attention? I posted my blunt, honest opinion.. if it bothers you, scroll past it! Why must I be sensitive of someones feelings, when they’re choosing to whine and cry AFTER receiving payment. No insecurities here, just blunt honesty with a lack of sympathy and compassion for an attention seeking midget.

      • God, what an awful human being you are. Ick.

    • What kind of piece of shit excuse for a human being do you have to be to post a nasty and disgusting comment like that? There is no way you would say that to a persons’ face in real life because you know that if you did, you’d be punched in the face.
      You disgust me.

    • jayjay0354 says:

      LOL! This is cracking me up cos shes actually fucking hot !!! haha.
      You are a tiny piece of shit blobbed on your keyboard that needs some severe toilet flushing Jude.
      You are jealous, admit it. Why else would you waste your time coming on here and having a bitch. I feel extremely sorry for your family

      • Jude M says:

        Jealous of what? LOL! Thanks for making me laugh hahaha. I’m just giving my blunt, honest opinion. If it bothers you scroll past it.

      • mltryman says:

        First, I think little women are sexy as hell. I would luv to see her fan site. Second this jide guy is just trolling everyone. Hes just a dick looking for his own 15 min of fame. Just ignore him.

    • It’s kind of bizarre to me how many people are screaming “but she got PAID for this! she’s bitching AFTER SHE GOT PAID!” like none of you have ever complained about something shitty you got paid to do. JFC. Money might rule your life but it’s not the be-all-end-all you think it is to everyone. Not everything can be financially compensated for. And how do you know when she got paid? Maybe her payout came with the signing of the contract, before rehearsals even began, maybe she’s still waiting for payment, who knows? Does it really matter?

      Tell you what, you can lick my dirty ass and I’ll pay you for it and then you can complain all you want afterward.

    • fameONE says:

      You’re absolute scum for saying this. I would personally like to waterboard you for hours on end until you beg for mercy.

      To the author, thank you for sharing your experiences. Thank you for bringing awareness to situations such as these. Thank you for being a human being. Thank you for being beautiful.

    • Snarky k says:

      “Screaming for attention? I posted my blunt, honest opinion.. if it bothers you, scroll past it!” Same can be said about you posting your shitty, unwanted, insensitive opinion. If this article bothers you, scroll past it. Nobody wants to hear shit from your bigoted self.

    • Teresa Crow says:

      I hope you know that that comment said way more about your character than it did about hers.

    • Vincent Ross says:

      Jude M. – Wow.. I respect your willingness to say what you really think. But that is about all there is to respect, because everything you DO say merely shows you to be a pathetic excuse for a human being., lacking in any apparent redeeming quality. Merely seeing your screed on my screen makes me feel a need for a hot shower.

    • Lol Jude you’re a pathetic little fucktard even if you turn out to be “normal” height. I vote you do us all a favour and go stick your head in the oven and set it to high. I felt sorry for you at first but then decided that fuck it this guy is a worthless waste of human skin taking up precious oxygen… I’ll wait while you read and process this reply, yeah I imagine it’s difficult with the IQ of a gold fish.

      • John Johnson says:

        Hi Nic Zinner… Does it make you feel less of an obese dork to make nasty comments hiding on your computer while stuffing your fat face? Sad you can’t get a date?

    • I have to say being a moderator on a forum we just call you a troll and just Ban ya..
      Your just a inhuman piece of garbage talking like that to another human being..

      • John Johnson says:

        Or, we could do this Christopher…We could put out his name. ( Nicholas Zinner),His address. ( not yet) where he works,( not yet) the other names he’s used on here to make horrible comments about someone he does not even know. You know…I think I’ll forward his comments to his boss. Maybe his mom he lives with. Yea…that would make me a bit less pissed off about the things he’s said hiding behind his computer. Think I should?

    • What is wrong with you?? Do you feel better about yourself when you seek to make others feel awful? I feel sorry for you. Your life must be pretty horrible to have the motivation to be so horrible. Your post convinced me that you are ugly and pathetic. This little woman has a lot of strength and courage to speak out. I admire her- not you! Duh!

    • @ Jude- If you hate/dislike someone, you hate/dislike something in him/her that is a part of yourself. What isn’t a part of us doesn’t disturb us.

  8. I think that it is not the size thing, I think society has gotten a lot meaner. I just went into a taco shop, and it was totally empty, then had washed the floor, they say we will serve you in a minute hon, but make sure you don’t slip hon the floor is wet, as if I was too stupid to notice. And the weren’t taking my order so I said I will come back some other time, and you could hear them gasp that i was going to fall on the wet floor. But that is not even what makes me angry, they get their job cause look normal size but they put such little effort into what they do, if I had gotten that job, I would have served the person right away. The restaurant used to be twice the size, but you can what the problem is. It is the same with government. If I had been hired and if most People I know had been hired to run the government, we would have not shut down the government. You get rich people running the government they think they are too big to fail. I would rather know how it feels to be kicked down, but get back up, than to be the one that kicks a person down, and not even know that they are doing it.

  9. melnet says:

    I just wanted to drop a note saying how much I appreciate your blog post. It takes guts to expose your thoughts and feelings for the world to see. I hope whatever negative comments come your way does not prevent you from continuing to do what you do. Take care.

  10. Pingback: Dançarina de Miley nos VMAs queixa-se do tratamento que recebeu | Miley Forever Fans :: Your Best Portuguese Source About Miley Cyrus

  11. Thanks for sharing Hollis, you’re fabulous!

    It’s amazing how things like this persist and are even supported by people like some previous commenters. Experiences like yours just sadden me and remind me that although we have a great many freedoms and huge strides have been made in equality in most fronts, entertainment often still relies on degradations such as this git a cheap laugh; the most insidious way to perpetuate those very view points.

  12. Paul Walters says:

    What a wonderful and thoughtful commentary on your life and the realities you face. Some of the comments were so childish and sad. Maybe one day some of those folks will look back on the things they wrote and be able to express regrets as well. Good luck in following your dreams and keep learning from life! Peace, Pastor Paul Walters

  13. Pingback: Miley Cyrus and Her Tiny Dancer Make Up | SharePlux

  14. Pingback: Miley Cyrus and Her Tiny Dancer Make Up | like to cum

  15. Pingback: Miley Cyrus and Her Tiny Dancer Make Up

  16. Pingback: Miley Cyrus and Her Tiny Dancer Make Up | OMG Hollywood- Celebrity Gossip and Entertainment News

  17. Pingback: Miley Cyrus Makes Up With Her Belittled Backup Dancer (PHOTOS) | Global Grind

  18. Pingback: Miley Cyrus and Her Tiny Dancer Make Up | I Like News

  19. Pingback: I was in Miley … | I'm Such an AFROholic

  20. I truly appreciate this insight. I’m a college student currently in the midst of writing a paper discussing the problems/questionableness of the music video “We Can’t Stop”. Although my paper focuses on the racist implications (because of the way the assignment is posed) your thoughts from being a person actually involved in the situation is so valuable. Your reasonable analysis is really appreciated especially since reasonableness is so hard to find these days. Wishing you the best of luck without taking this job!

  21. Pingback: Fredagskänslan. | Blåbärsmössan

  22. Pingback: Miley Cyrus’ Bankup Dancer Didn’t Appreciate ‘Degrading’ VMA Performance | Blog

  23. Just a thought or two to add to the mix of comments on Hollis Jane’s insightful blog. As it happens, I saw only clips of Miley’s VMA gig. My thanks to Hollis for expanding my perspective of that event. The “shouldn’t complain–she was paid” criticism of Hollis’ blog does not fit. The author is clear the specifics of the VMA performance were not fully disclosed until after hire and equally clear about her choice to turn down the money and the work when Miley’s people offered her a second gig working a Tour. Hollis’ concerns about the casting do fit. She was treated as an object, not as a person. Sadly, I have seen how objectification is not limited to one group, like LP, or to one profession, like acting. Isn’t that the point here? When you have a choice, walk away from people who see you only as an object. If this author can do it, so can we. I applaude the courage of Hollis Jane.

  24. Well, Hollis, I think you are a mighty kickass woman. It sounds like you are passionately dedicated to pursuing acting (and you are absolutely gorgeous), so I believe you will break some new ground. I’m rooting for you.

  25. Pingback: Z100 Jingle Ball at Madison Square Garden – New York Times | Money ChitChat

  26. Pingback: Z100 Jingle Ball at Madison Square Garden – New York Times | Tools Garden Shop

  27. Pingback: Z100 Jingle Ball at Madison Square Garden – New York Times | Bit Coin News Daily

  28. Pingback: Z100 Jingle Ball at Madison Square Garden – New York Times | Home Gadget Deals

  29. Pingback: Z100 Jingle Ball at Madison Square Garden – New York Times | Garden Stuff Market

  30. Pingback: Music Review: Z100 Jingle Ball at Madison Square Garden | Sunnylicious

  31. Pingback: Z100 Jingle Ball at Madison Square Garden - Grow Your Own

  32. Tell these disgusting cows to cover up their udders !

  33. Jeff Preuss says:

    “Sweet Heart (@wunderkaetzchen) says:
    December 16, 2013 at 9:32 am

    LOL, so you’re a LP as well? :) You sound soooo scary, I bet if I grab you by your collar and lift in the air you’d be flailing and yelling quite fiercely. Take a seat moron. ;)”

    What an absolutely wretched thing to say. ‘Ha ha ha my opinion matters more than yours because I can pick you up off the floor!’ Sweet Heart my patootie.

  34. Pingback: Z100 Jingle Ball at Madison Square Garden | Cheap HD DVD Movies, Cheap Music, Ebook Free

  35. tempest1000 says:

    You have integrity – be proud! You are also a very beautiful and intelligent young lady.

  36. Pingback: Miley Cyrus Midget Dancer Felt Bad About VMA Performance, Rants On Blog

  37. I could sit here and chastise the idiotic people on here writing nasty comments, but it’s simply not needed but I will share my opinion without making a human being feel like crap. Yes…we all have our opinion and are welcome to it….however it would be nice if negative people like Jude kept it to themselves. But Jude…like you, she is allowed to voice her opinion as well, be she short, tall, or average. Why bring her physical appearance into your comments? It should have no bearing on what she does or does not do. She simply was writing a post expressing disgust not only with what Miley wanted her to do but also with her own choice to follow through with it. We all do things we later regret. It’s a part of life and all a learning process. So while you all are entitled to your opinions it is mine that I wish you all looking to tear down someone with your comments that you would keep them to yourselves and back the fuck off. You certainly aren’t perfect either.

  38. Matto Gravy says:

    Years ago I worked as manager of a (very) small theatre and we’d put on different sorts of shows on our intimate stage… when there was anything really interesting the place would get packed but even then there was only room enough for a fraction of the audience you’d see at another venue.

    so one season we put on a variety show that generated a very hot conversation revolving around exactly this subject. It was called “wine, women and song” and was an all female revue – IF you count one drag queen as female which of course we did. This performer was a very large person anyway and when in full drag she wore boots with heels that made her even taller. For this performance, at least (and I got the impression they’d worked together before), she had a partner who was a very tiny little person. I mean tiny. When she stood next to her partner in the act, she measured several inches below her knees.

    I loved their dynamic. they had a polished and well put together repartee, the little woman was gorgeous, she looked like a miniature Betty Page, wore roller skates through much of the act and she was good on them, she zipped around the stage delivering her lines and was great eye candy. The two of them together just stole the show, as you can imagine.

    But, this show did not go off without controversy. The director, who was my partner, asked the skater-girl early in the process whether there was anything she was uncomfortable doing and she responded honestly, I forget what she said exactly but I do remember she drew in her personal performance philosophy a clear distinction between “spectacle” and “freak show.” She was fairly extroverted and was comfortable being the former, but would darkly bitch-slap anyone who saw her as a ‘freak.’ However, that understanding between the performer and director did not prevent certain other performers, along with early witnesses to the rehearsals, from getting bent out of shape at the exploitative quality they perceived. At first they went to the director and asked him to cut the offending act. He refused. They claimed at first to be standing up for the rights of little people to not be gawked at; then later they cited the ‘wildness’ of the particular act, and how it didn’t fit with what they perceived to be a “classy” group. A drag queen and a little hipster on roller skates? Horrors!

    there’s no great climax to my tale; the director actually expanded the lovely contrasting team of gigantic drag artist and speedy little person into an act where they sort of served as mistresses of ceremonies, people just loved them, the performers who had complained did not drop out, and afterwards I never saw any of them again. But I never forgot the act, and I have often asked myself what the great attraction was in this performer who was so small. I have wondered if the novelty of her size made what we did exploitation, and of course when I go there I also have to say that in that case, the novelty of the great size of her comrade on stage was also exploitation. they were clearly functioning as a team with a contrasting dynamic of size, the same as any number of comedic teams you can name through the history of show-biz.

    The main point though is that this was a strong woman, capable of determining and protecting the lines she would cross and would not. She had made herself over into the embodiment of a particular image, dyed black hair with brow length bangs, revealing outfits, tattoos, and no doubt she found herself work sometimes because of the unique look she had going. No doubt there were avenues in the industry she found closed to her for the exact same reason. But after meeting her and getting to know her, finding her with such an open sense of humor, so much brains and such an ease in social settings, I have never forgotten her and wished for her all the success at anything she goes for, she not only deserves it but she’s capable enough to handle ANYTHING, and not only roles that call for a small human who is not a child.

  39. oldilocks says:

    I feel your pain. I’ve always wanted to be a model, but never made it because of the profession’s stigma against women who are overweight and not all that attractive. ;-)

    In spite of what we’ve been told, we’re NOT all born with the capabilities to be whatever we want to be; we all have some type of restriction, be it size, looks, intelligence, personality, aptitude, athleticism — the list of attributes we DON’T have is endless.

    Conversely, we all have some kind of talent; the key is to take advantage of the qualities you DO have. Cases in point, do you think Donald Trump is crying in his Merlot because he’s not a star quarterback? Is Mariah Carey upset because she doesn’t have a cooking show? The answer is an emphatic no; however, they made use of the talents they DID have.

    You were chosen for that job BECAUSE of your particular characteristics. You wouldn’t have gotten the job had the casting call been for drop-dead gorgeous, lithe dancers; neither would any of them have gotten the job you got. You have a lot going for you; please learn to take advantage of — and appreciate — what you’ve got.

  40. I would ask, you to review your marketing of yourself. I have gone through your twitter, and poked around a bit to find out who you are. I can’t blame you for jumping on the wrecking ball band wagon, but, I would think it you were to do it in a different light, instead of being another link in the chain that will ultimately hang Miley. My daughters were with me, and one used the word boring, as I was reading your dialog as well somewhat confusing when you don’t use complete sentences to get your point across. I know this is difficult with twitter, short sentences policy but you can do more to give the world a total respectable view of where you are coming from. It’s clear you have worked hard, and I understand you admit yourself, that your motive was need of money, and I don’t think this has changed at all since we all need it, myself included. Rich people need it more than the poor because they have a full blown addiction to money and like any addiction, it must be fed. I would ask that you show the world a more candid view. Lets see your work, showcase, and portfolio and much more professional grade photos. You are beautiful, but if you are sharing photos of you in “normal” settings you can’t set yourself above the rest. This is a cruel way to get ahead and I would never do all the things listed in The 48 Laws of Power, but many of these strategies for getting to the top can benefit you as you learn to market yourself to the people looking for what you have to offer. The best website is Linkedin and I am not sure you have a profile there but if you do not, you should. It’s a network of professionals and you can find those professionals you seek through that wonderful site. I’d love to see more of what you have to offer, and understand your feelings on the dehumanization experience but we can’t blame Miley, because she is just a puppet with someone else pulling the strings. When you get to where you are going, don’t be someones puppet. Make sure you are the Puppet Master, and the world will be your stage.

    • oldilocks says:

      Tammy,

      Re: ” … as I was reading your dialog as well somewhat confusing when you don’t use complete sentences to get your point across.”

      Run-on sentences and the lack of paragraphs made your dialog too onerous to wade through, so I didn’t. I’m sure your message had some interesting points; perhaps you’d care to rewrite it so that people’s eyes don’t glaze over and they can bear to read it to the end.

  41. Pingback: miley cryus background dancer tell | lifeiscrazyblog

  42. If anyone knows how to get in touch with Hollis who I saw on TV today and read this some of which is totally uncalled for, I would appreciate it. We have something she can do as we represent a publicly traded company that can make her rich. So, we’d like to extend an offer to her. If anyone can get this message to her, I can be reached at tmikesf2@gmail.com. Peace, T. Michael Haney, CFP (retired)

  43. I saw your interview on Ronan Farrow and decided to look up your blog. I was struck by your comment about putting on a mask and could immediately relate. Also, your sentiments about being cast for something because of your size really struck a chord. I’m 6′-6″ tall and I often play monsters. I see the huge difference in our respective experiences, though, in that when I’m cast as “big monster,” the result is fear, which is power. I’ve never had to endure ridicule as the character. Masks can be wonderful things. We should always be careful what mask we wear. Acting in a mask is a specialty. When you lose your face as an actor and become objectified as something else, the art of storytelling becomes one of movement. I didn’t intend this to be an essay on acting in a mask, I meant to just write to you and tell you I admire your courage and support you in your efforts to combat exploitation and discrimination. I hope we’ll one day have a chance to work together.

  44. Pingback: Miley Cyrus Thinks She's Helping Little People By Degrading Them

  45. Hey, lovely blog, I totally get you, being an actress who has dwarfism and worked in the industry for 13 years now, successfully avoiding stereotypical stuff too. See my blog http://www.kirunastamell.net if you ever wanna chat or anything. Oh, yeah, I read the comments above and saw the trolling… That Jude one, cracks me up, so full of vitriol and so OBVIOUS… Isn’t funny how unaware how ugly their personalities can make them. Anyway, when she’s done ripping into your blog she’s welcome to come and have a go on mine. I think, us real world dwarfs can handle anonymous drivel from online ‘trolls’. Troll just wish they were special. We actually tick an awesome box :)

  46. Pingback: It’s Probably Every Dwarf’s Dream to Be A Prop for Miley Cyrus | Painting On Scars

  47. Well said! Thank you for speaking out. I’m featuring you in my own – slightly less diplomatic – analysis of this week:

    http://paintingonscars.wordpress.com/2014/03/02/its-probably-every-dwarfs-dream-to-be-a-prop-for-miley-cyrus/

  48. I don’t want to be rude or insensitive, but i feel this should be said (although i agree with your opinion on the whole Miley Cyrus clusterf**k)- i don’t think there are that many roles suited for a LP. If you choose this career despite certain let’s say – shortcomings, you should also expect roles that come with it. I don’t say that’s ok, but i feel that that’s just how the showbussines works right now. (Or at least it does look like it to a person looking from the outside). I just don’t see major studios re-writing their characters/roles to fit characteristics or the needs of a LP (although this could change in time). You must know this better than anyone. Anyway, i wish you luck. And – if you don’t agree with what someone wants you to do, don’t do it.

  49. After reading this, I found it refreshing to learn that this experience did not tarnish your confidence and self esteem, and how you viewed yourself wholly, but instead helped strengthen the love that you have for yourself as a human and others you share relation to (however that may be).

    It is not always just about “the star” and I think that if more people realized this, we would all have a better understanding of what it means for one to feel vulnerable when performing certain actions, instead of basing our judgment solely on the fact that the actions themselves were performed.

    I don’t imagine that it is easy for someone to make such a possibly life-changing decision, to put themselves directly in view of the media and society’s idea of their value as humans, based on their appearance.

    The bigger picture is, society purposely divides us based, not on relevance of our genuine contributions to a healthier world as a whole, but simply on how we all look, and how we can make society look.

    For someone to be criticized for being willingly vulnerable enough to share the cause of a previous moment of vulnerability, exudes in itself, the level of progression we’ve made as a society, in accepting one another.

Leave a Reply

